Why so slow? '98GS

6GUN

HELP !!
Took my 98GS (20,000 mi) to the track for the first time last week. Car is bone stock,93 oct.pump gas, took out dr. headlite. Expected around 15 flat. Got..15.75, 15.95, 16.2, then gave up! 60ft times were 2.35-2.5. Launched @1500rpm, both with traction control on once, and off twice. MPH was around 87-88 avg. car seems week if you nail it hard from a stop, but if you ease into the throttle off the line , it seems
to accelerate harder. Normal driving seems good (21-22 mpg around town). Any ideas as to where I could start looking for a problem? I'd like to get the car into the high 13's for now as it is my daily driver.
Scott and Robert, your cars seem to be running great! Good work! And thanks for sharing your mod's with us in true Buick"Go fast with Class" fashion!:(

I will be updating my web page with mods and progress of my new SC 3800. see test pipe thread.

Regards
Hooter

6Gun,

I'm not an expert at problem solving. My car was 15.0 stock as advertised by the manufacturer. Have you checked your filters - fuel, air to make sure there are no obstructions?

Your 60 ft times are pretty slow even considering stock tires. Get stickier tires or just practice.

Where in MI did you run?

Scott

ICE! Ice down the SC for atleast 1/2-1 hr. When in the staging lanes keep the motor off AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE to keep everything cool. Take the intake hose completly off the TB, front tires about 22psi and rears max out, take out the spare tire and jack. Stay out of the water just do a light burnout to clean off the tires, Launch at 1500-2krmp and let the tires grab for a split sec. then mash the pedal. The ice took me from 15.2(hot engine) to 14.5:D - all stock.