Vacuum conversion - Pros and Cons - your input, please

SinistrV6

Valve Monkey
Vacuum conversion for my street rod? Input please.

Just like the title says; if you've done this conversion are you glad you did? Especially guys who've had it done for a fairly long time.
My reason for asking is my street rod has the master cylinder on the frame under the driver's side floorboard (typical of 30's cars) I have a new master cylinder and plan on buying a dual 7" booster if the vacuum system is recommended.
I don't have a problem with PowerMaster systems but space is extremely limited (vertically from frame to ground) and PM takes up a lot of room. I could mount on the firewall like a modern car but my firewall is smoothed and I really don't like to look at that ugly a** PM system. Brake performance supercedes appearance everytime, though.

ive done this conversion 6 or 8 months ago and ill never swich back. after 2 diffrent powermasters and other replacement parts ill never go back. you could also do a search on this . youll find a lot of people feel the same way.:D

From Precision and Cotton you can hold more boost at the line with the Powermaster unit.

I did it and threw my Powerdesaster system outta my garage - it wasn't even floor worthy.

Vac system is great - i'll never go back.

Go manual, and forgo the nonsense involved with other answers.
Effort is slightly higher, but it ALLOWS works.

Nice knowing that the brakes will allows be working.

Also it is hard to build vaccum when you are in boost. This is when you might need your brakes the most.

I converted to vacuum brakes waaay back in '96 after the Power Master failed. Would that be considered a "fairly long time"? ;)

No regrets whatsoever, and I haven't touched it since! :)