Trying to run the tunerpro on my Laptop with the MAFT pro

Black Sunshine

Slacker
Hello I finally bought a serial to usb adapter so I can connect my laptop to the MAFT pro. I thought that was all I need to get to tuning with my laptop or at least be able to see what my car is doing. I guess I need a connection to the ALDL as well because I can't get anything to happen. I am new to this so can someone please tell me what kind of adapter I need to plug my laptop with windows Vista into the ALDL and also where I can purchase what I need? Thank you so much for any help.

Hello I finally bought a serial to usb adapter so I can connect my laptop to the MAFT pro. I thought that was all I need to get to tuning with my laptop or at least be able to see what my car is doing. I guess I need a connection to the ALDL as well because I can't get anything to happen. I am new to this so can someone please tell me what kind of adapter I need to plug my laptop with windows Vista into the ALDL and also where I can purchase what I need? Thank you so much for any help.

Tunerpro has "ALDL" logging, but we use that part of tunerpro to log data from the Pro.

right click in the gray area in the right half of the screen and select preferences. In the ALDL logging page, you need to select translator pro in the connection box.

Then load the correct ads file and you should be able to connect to the Pro and log data from it.

Bob

Ok by the connection box I assume you mean change the interface type to Translator Pro? I am also confused with what ads file to load. I only have one xdf file and that is the 6E.xdf. The matching one that is 6E.ads says it's for 5 and 5.7 liter engines. What am I doing wrong? Thanks again for helping out a first time user.