Too much octane cause a misfire?

BlownZ

I thought I had cured my misfire....tooling around tonight with the wife a little bit to show off my skillz fixing the car...:D A couple of full throttle blasts and no problem...no misfire...17lbs of boost. I stopped at a little station that had VP 108 out of a pump. I put 6 gallons of gas in ...10 minutes later I cracked on it and psi hit 14 and it started flattening out and misfiring just like before.

I figure too much octane maybe so I add 6 gallons of 93 from another pump....should give a mix of abot 100 or so I assume. It is still misfiring. What gives guys....bad gas? Too much octane?

I am no expert but I would think ignition problem? How are your wires? Cracked or old. Maybe shorting out?

Plugs may need a tighter gap with higher octane??

I have seen a street chip cause that problem with too much octane. The problem was insufficent timing in the chip for the octane. (Too little timing). We put the race chip in and all was well.

Dont know if its your problem, but it could be.

Bob

Bob...that is what I suspect. It is a Jay Carter 93 chip from what I am told in the car. It was running mint until I put the 6 gallons of 108 in the car...then it started misfiring at 15 lbs or so. It almost feels like it hits a rev limiter at 15lbs...it just lays down and pops a little until you let off of it. At part throttle it runs great...at WOT throttle forget it. The plugs and wires are new and the grounds have been redone...they are tight and clean. The only ignition part that I have not replaced is the coil pack and module but it just seems like WAY too much of a coincidence that the car was running great...put 108 in and it starts running like crap. I have to say it is the gas.