Stock boost controller won't hold vacuum

mblum

I'm in the middle of getting my recently acquired 86 GN back on the road and today I as testing everything in the vacuum circuits with my Mighty Vac and finding more leaking components that components that hold vacuum it seems. When applying vacuum to the nipple that the vacuum hose attaches the OEM controller (mounts to the passember side valve cover ) will not hold vacuum. I'm assuming this is not normal. I've been searching Buick vendor websites and cannot find a replacement, not sure if I'm not looking in the correct areas of the website or they are just not available.

What's my best option here? I'm new to the TR and am still trying to learn.

TType85

I don't know if you are having a problem with your solenoid but hopefully it is good because they have been discontinued for a long time and I have seen them go for $250+ on ebay.

I would try it and see how the car runs. If the lines look good and it's not throwing a code send it.

mblum

Yes, it's the solenoid. Looks like this guy

When applying vacuum to the port the vacuum hose attaches I loose about 2.5 inches of vacuum per second. For example if I pump my Mighty Vac to 20 in it will be back to 0 in about 7-8 seconds. The didn't run well when I took possession of it, it hasn't been driven in about 13 years. I'm working through a long list of tasks to hopefully get it back up and going. Currently I'm chaining all gaskets (minus the head gaskets and rear main seal) on the engine as it was leaking oil everywhere. Changing valve springs, timing set, adding a hot wire kit, new fuel pump ect.

Before I started this work the car did run, just not well. I could only achieve 12 inches of vacuum at hot idle. I have found numerous vacuum leaks while testing and am testing all components a vacuum line attaches.

Could I use this solenoid as a replacement?
Its the AC Delco 214-1073 mentioned in Vortex Buicks

grass doctor

Dream Catcher