Scanmaster G Dim Display

Discussion in 'Scan Tool Tech' started by Charles Young, Jul 8, 2017.

  1. Charles Young

    Charles Young
    Expand Collapse
    C Young

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    17
    Offline
    I have love the G version of the SM and it has been flawless but today when I went out in the car I could not see anything at all on the display. Pulled over and found that if you shielded ambient light from the display you could see that it was working. When I pulled into the garage, you could see the display but it is very dim. When you turn the headlights on, all other gauges light up but not the SM. I have 12 V to the correct terminal and I believe a good ground.
    Anybody else have this problem or any suggestions?

    Thanks,
    Charles
     
  2. Turbo6inKY

    Turbo6inKY
    Expand Collapse
    Short Guy

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    66
    Offline
    Contact TurboBob. Mine did that, and he was able to fix it.
     
  3. GNRick

    GNRick
    Expand Collapse
    Retired member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,810
    Likes Received:
    157
    Offline
    Mine did it and Bob swapped it with a good one.
     
  4. Charles Young

    Charles Young
    Expand Collapse
    C Young

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    17
    Offline
    Will do, thanks guys!!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. TurboBob

    TurboBob
    Expand Collapse
    Resident mad scientist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    5,877
    Likes Received:
    331
    Offline
    some of the early ones have done that. Its no problem to fix, but it needs to come to me.

    send me an email and we can get it taken care of.

    Bob
     
  6. Charles Young

    Charles Young
    Expand Collapse
    C Young

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    17
    Offline
    Will do Bob, thanks! I will repeat what has been said many times here....... you are a great credit to the TB community and great to work with.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. turbotroy

    turbotroy
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    98
    Offline
    Bob, mine has the same problem. What do I need to do to get it back to you? Thanks.
     
  8. TurboBob

    TurboBob
    Expand Collapse
    Resident mad scientist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    5,877
    Likes Received:
    331
    Offline
    send me an email or a PM,

    Bob
     
  9. Cape Cod GN

    Cape Cod GN
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Offline
    T
    Turbo Bob I am having the same problem with my scanmaster G. Is this fixable? Can I send to you?
    Thanks.
    Bryan
     
  10. TurboBob

    TurboBob
    Expand Collapse
    Resident mad scientist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    5,877
    Likes Received:
    331
    Offline
    yes, no problem. send it on over and I will update it and send it back.

    Bob
     
  11. V6sleeper

    V6sleeper
    Expand Collapse
    T'chargd Wagon

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    132
    Offline
    Same here, I will get it out in the next few weeks..
     

Share This Page