Repainting car questions

skidlid

I am thinking of stripping my 86 gn this fall and refinishing it. I am a professional auto body technician since 89 and have run a shop since 2001. A couple questions I have on these cars before I start. Should I over restore the finish, as in color sand it flat or leave some orange peel to match factory? Underside of hood leave base coat not cleared like factory or clearcoat to a shine? Most of the pics of jams seem dull, should I make them as shinny as the rest of the car? I am planning on tearing car all apart and stripping all the paint and painting every thing apart so I have no tape lines. My other question is will this add much to the value of the car in your opinion, ok driver finish now. Has been painted in the past but not up to my standards. They left the old laquer on and painted over it.

I see zero reason to actually leave orange peel in paint purposely. Also left the rock guard off of mine. The jams should be the same as the rest of the car as far as I am concerned. As far as value goes, I think a pristine body and paint is priceless.

Bryan

^^^Agree. No value in trying to make it look original. Most would take a quality repaint over the original. My jams are shiny on my original paint GN. Done right, a repaint adds value. Take lots of pics throughout the process.

I have two TR's
One done with original rock guard and some minimal orange peel. The other is color sanded to a perfect gloss with no rockguard and no orange peel. Both look nice but my preference is no orange peel at all... It looks like glass and makes the other cars it sits next to look like crap (even new cars...)

Take a look at pictures of Spoolfool's car... It is stunning.