Powder Coating Intake Plenum

87_TX_T-Type

So I haven't had a chance to contribute much to the forum thus far, but I was hoping to add a little something since everyone has been so helpful. (By the way, this is my first attempt at powder coating, so this is NOT the end-all-be-all guide - just my experience.)

While replacing the fuel injectors and ditching the EGR this weekend, I decided to do a little deep cleaning of the nooks and crannies. It seemed a shame to go through all that effort without trying to rejuvenate the intake plenum.
View media item 277
So after weighing my options, I decided to give powder coating a try. I already have a compressor, so I made a trip to Harbor Freight to purchase their powder coating rig (about $60 with coupon), and black powder paint ($6). I also needed an oven to cure the paint, and since the general consensus is NOT to use an oven you cook in, I also purchased a decent size Oster toaster oven for $40 on sale at Target.

After giving the piece a thorough scrubbing with engine degreaser and a brass brush, everything looked pretty good albeit it became evident that it had likely been painted before with a silver/aluminum paint. (Which makes sense, given that the valve covers have been custom painted the color of the car.) So I hit it again with some 180 grit sandpaper to get as much of the paint off.

I also took the sandpaper to the top ridges in a circular motion to get the shine back a bit.

Once it was "clean" I put it in the oven at 400* for about 10 minutes to burn off anything chemical or grease wise on the surface.
View media item 284
After letting it cool down, I put on the rubber gloves and wiped down the entire surface again with mineral spirits and a microfiber cloth before masking all the threaded and mating surfaces with painters tape. Masking was actually pretty easy considering the aluminum edges provided a sharp enough surface that the exacto knife wasn't needed to do much trimming.
View media item 285