Odd problem with OD pinion "wear washers"

INEEDAGN

Seen Your Member
the 4 wear washers that are closest to the sprag are well within spec with a feeler gauge but are worn laterally, egg shaped the holes and wobble around. All 4 washers did this, all on the same side of the planet. Everything else about the planet is cherry as this is a low mile 87 brf that I'm 99% certain had never been apart. I have a new set of wear washers for this but my gut tells me to replace at least the carrier assembly. I'm no pro but I've seen a few of these, couple of which had been beaten on quite mercilessly, and never seen this problem before. Thoughts?

image.jpg

Last edited:
I would replace the whole carrier especially from the looks of that pinion gear wear,also better look over ring gear too.

I don't see any problems with the gear teeth I think it's the lighting in that pic. It's tough to picture gear teeth it turns out. However one of the other washers is worse than what I'd pictured. I'm not sure if it's poorly made washers or poorly machined carrier but I'm gonna probably replace the whole planet to be safe and chalk it up to more awesome gm part quality. I would love to hear about it if anyone else has seen this before though.

image.jpeg

I don't see any problems with the gear teeth I think it's the lighting in that pic. It's tough to picture gear teeth it turns out. However one of the other washers is worse than what I'd pictured. I'm not sure if it's poorly made washers or poorly machined carrier but I'm gonna probably replace the whole planet to be safe and chalk it up to more awesome gm part quality. I would love to hear about it if anyone else has seen this before though.

View attachment 273353