Newbie 10.0-10.5 Build

Amab145

Hey guys, name is TJ, new to the forum as well as these amazing cars! I was looking for an introduction thread but didn’t find one. I have a lot of experience in the small block chevy world, but am completely new to these turbo Buick’s. I’ve been reading non-stop for months on this forum and online in general to learn all I can but I need help and clarification I have an 84’ that the previous owner swapped the drive train of an 86’-87’ into. Very solid car cosmetically and structurally, also it’s a great cruiser. Engine and everything runs strong, no mechanical issues that I know if (doesn’t use oil, runs great) So here is my goal:

I want to build this car to a 10.0-10.5 car. Not looking for 8’s or 9’s. I also want to maintain the drivability of the car on the street as it is truly a pleasure to cruise around in. It will probably spend probably 90-95% of its time on the street, the other 10% at the track, so I don’t want to build an all out drag car and ruin the street-ability of it. I often take it on cruises 3-4hrs away. So here is the direction I am leaning. My factory 3.8 block, forged crank (should I stroke it?), forged rods and pistons. 218/218 cam, port my stock heads (will they get me there or do I need a set of Champions?) Obviously injectors (has 60lbs in it now), turbo uprade and of course tranny/converter work as well as an Eaton and Mosier axles.

What else do I need to do? What should I avoid? I really apologize for all the questions. I’ll take any help I can get here. Like I said earlier, I’ve built some pretty wicked smallblocks before, and also some diesels making big power, but I know these aren’t anything like those and I’m completely lost here!