Magic HP #

200MPHClub

I'm in the process of beginning a build on my very first Buick motor (87 T-Type) for the purpose of Land Speed Racing and was wondering what it would take to turn out 1500HP...give or take. Right now according to some calculations this is around what it will take for me to get close to breaking some records in my engine class. Since I've never built one of these engines before I really don't know what is needed to get there. I have an idea about pieces and parts but would appreciate some input from what appears to be a very smart bunch of Buick Gurus.

Thanks

BTW, I'm sure the first thing you're going to mention is how much it will cost....so no need to go there I'll figure out how to pay for it.

You will need a stage 2 or equivalent engine block and a tube chassis set up extended high speed for starters. The best of everything will be needed if you want to run 1500hp for minutes at a time. I could see a project like this costing $200k or more.

Well, it all has to be done with a stock production car...no tube chassis and it will run for 7 miles...about 3 of them at top speed. I know it can be done as the current record holder in this class is running a TTA and went 256mph and in the altered class with the same car and engine has clipped 301mph on a Buick V6 built by Duttweiler Engineering. I know that there is a relatively new Aluminum 231ci block being built by TA Performance along with Ken but I was wondering what it would take staying away from their block as their built block (granted streetable and not race prep so I know it could be tweaked) makes about 800hp and costs 35K so I'm looking into what's possible using off the shelf parts.

As I said I'm not overly concerned with price at the moment.