Lifters

Clark6

Well my question is the lifters still in the car,,, If i can't get it primed up just remove it??? I've never done it before. They are hard as a rock on the upstroke... but when i rotated the engine on the bottomed out side of #4 exhaust the lifter is spungy like. rotate the engine its gets back hard again.... I dunno if they are the 853s but strong possibility . This engine been running fine the last 7/8 years when I put it in... suggestions? All of a sudden it made a loud clacking noise under passenger side valve cover I thought maybe they just needed adjustment.....

is it just the one lifter Ray?
Yep Just one #4 Exhaust. I tried to squirt marvel mystery oil down the shoot. took the rocker off squirted down the pushrod hole. The engine will prime but that one lifter on the bottom side is springy/squishy but rotate the engine somemore it's hard as a rock..... repeat...

Is it collapsed or lost prime or what? Do I need to pull the intake? Wish it was an article to see how to do what I need to do. :/

when it's opening the valve is it collapsing(rotating engine by hand)?

cant explain what you mean Doug I only check it two ways rotate engine clock wise till the valve is closed it's spongy/springy feeling the other don't do that .... rotate engine with valve opened its hard as a rock.

cant explain what you mean Doug I only check it two ways rotate engine clock wise till the valve is closed it's spongy/springy feeling the other don't do that .... rotate engine with valve opened its hard as a rock.