Just added a duttweiler necked intercooler ,

beginner

Just added a duttweiler necked intercooler and picked up several pounds of boost in the process, but now the car pops and backfires ? What went wrong ? Boost has increased to about 21 psi, do I need to back it down some ? or look elsewhere for the problem ?

That's too much boost for 91 or 93 octane. You can either decrease the boost to what it was or if you want to run higher boost you would need to fill her up with high octane race gas, install a methanol injection kit or convert to E-85.
Watch the scanmaster for no knock retard, that way you're not replacing head gaskets.

Thanks for your advice. It would act up some on 93 with 18 psi, but nothing like it is now at 21. I will retard the boost to where it was before the intercooler upgrade. I also thought it may be fuel pressure as I do not have a hot wire kit. I'm just getting started. I have a methanol injection kit, but have yet to install. I'm looking for basic bolt ons with hopes of reaching the high 11's

11s are easy with bolt on's but not 21 lbs with just Duttneck , your gonna blow a head gasket . Install the alky kit and go slow . A ton of info here

With the RJC Racing power plate some have run 18 psi boost with a stock location intercooler (SLIC), either stock or a stretched version with 93 only.
Some have tuned on the edge and ran 20-21 psi boost on 93 only with a fairly large front mount intercooler (FMIC) to reduce intake air temps and cylinder temps to reduce detonation (knock).

Let the car tell you what it likes, it sounds like the car is telling you to lower the boost to 15 or 16 psi and see if it's happy there, before adding the alky.

Watch the scanmaster and make sure there is no knock retard (kr), if there is any, turn the boost down.