Hot Air Hot Air

alb84

Grumpy, Greasy, Old
Ok. I'm sorry if you don't understand the buicks waste spark system. You really should'nt assume that I have not used Nos on my 84 though. As I have spent several hours in the pits trying to get my turbo put back on in the dark in time for the next race. Have you used NOS on a hot air before? I back my boost off from its normal 20 lbs to 17 when I run the NOS. When I hit the button it jumps to 21LBS. I really don't want to argue with anyone on this board, and I won't. I am just shareing my experience. Do what you like with the information. It worked for me. After 14+ years of driveing, raceing, and building my 84 GNs I still do not claim to know everything about them. I will think twice before saying anything next time. Later.....Danny

'84 GN owner here too...

I tried NOS when I first bought the car...I'm not an expert and I sought help from someone who is an expert on the subject (and that would be Terry Penner) and I also tried a couple alky kits before going to Steve Chlupsa's offering.

I did not intend to chew your head off... it was however a blanket comment to the many so-called experts making commentary and it surely leaves many of us onlookers wondering why do they even post? I posted my feelings on the subject because it gets old and the information is confusing.

You mention your normal boost is 20lbs. I'm curious is that a track only setting or your every day driver setting? Hot-Air or intyercooled? The stock wastegate actuator without modification will only push 12lbs on an '84/'85 car. I have tracked other's posts over the last 5+ years and watched their open dismay when some owners after installing a boost guage found out their boost was even lower than that 12lbs figure.