Home made Ground Kit

"Reaper"

Gone To The Dark Side
I am an Electrician and figured if it can work on a house it can do the same for a car.

So I took all the grounds off the back of the passenger side head (6 wires)and soldered them to some black #12 wire about 4" long and heat shrink the solder joints. I took the #12 wire to a 7 hole grounding bar (can be bought form any hardware store) One wire I double up but no big deal. I then took two #10 wires and installed yellow eyelets and put them under the coil pack bracket.Cost was about $6 i had everything but ground bar.If you can't find a seven hole one if its long you can just cut it with a saw.

Here is a pic of the ground bar on the firewall.

MyGN007.jpg

MyGN006.jpg

An alternate idea that Arizona GN (Nick) told me is to relocate the bolt/stud used on the lifting eye at the front of the manifold to the rear passenger side hole. The grounds will reach, and the eye's fit over the stud. That is a good idea you have there though, provided the set screws don't vibrate loose.

An alternate idea that Arizona GN (Nick) told me is to relocate the bolt/stud used on the lifting eye at the front of the manifold to the rear passenger side hole. The grounds will reach, and the eye's fit over the stud. That is a good idea you have there though, provided the set screws don't vibrate loose.

yup !!!! GM did that on the new TTA's !! Thats the easiest thing for me. :cool:

Be sure to add another 12 gage wire running from your bus to the engine block.

You're grounding your electrical grounds but not grounding the engine at that point.

With my "limited" electrical knowledge of TR's, most of which I learned the hard way, the body and frame are VERY poor grounds.

The engine is ok for a stock car, since the battery ground cable attaches there.

Ultimately all grounds MUST get back to the battery to complete a circuit.