HIDs, LEDs, and Halos. The long story.

NY Twin Turbo

All the good stuff.....Times 2.
So, this is how it started. A year ago or so I started messing around with lighting on the Buick. After trying multiple set ups, I came to finalize something I could live with last weekend.

I have been using using smoked headlight covers for a few years now. I never liked the way the aftermarket ones fit so I made my own. The ones I made looked good but they were too dark. Every time I drove at night I would have to take them off. Annoying.

Another thing. I can't ever use a true sealed beam headlight in my high beam location. My twin turbo set-up is configured to wrought the upper IC pipes from the turbos behind the header panel through that location. I don't have enough depth to accommodate the back of the housing.

I also was given (for free) a set of LED tail lights from a friend. I never really liked the kit much because I didn't like the way you could see the individual dots behind the red lenses. Also, the kit didn't look complete to me. I didn't like the use of the factory incandescent bulb in the center. So I never installed them.
.............................................................................................................................................................................

Skipping all the "do it twice" stuff, this is what I did.

HID kit's sold on E-Bay are complete Chinese garbage!!!! I ended up ordering 3 different kits and parts before I ended with a combination that was both bright and worked properly. I still don't know which pieces from which kit are specifically being used. However, my current installed set up is finally acceptable. It is relayed, 3500 K, 55 watt lamps and ballasts, with the internal high beam option. The internal high beam still doesn't work well but it's as good as it gets. I have no option for a separate high beam assembly.