Help with a huge project

kjizzle

Broken
I'm not really asking for help, just garage space. I'm an Audi tech at Royal Automotive in SF, but we can only use the space there on Thursdays after our shift is over, and I'm pretty sure I can't finish this in 2 hours. I live in Daly City.

I have no idea what's going on with my hunk of junk, but tomorrow I'll know more because I have to bring tools home from work to do this stuff. All of my tools are at work. She's running rich and has white smoke after warm up. The white smoke only comes on after it's warmed up, and really only in gear. If I sit at a stop light, white smoke pours, but it smells like gas. Tomorrow after work I can do a compression/leakdown, but not until then. She stumbles more than ever. All of this happened after switching from my Chinesium eBay special headers and stock turbo with in and out play to stock headers and a brand spankin' new TA45 from Kirban.

I've owned her since 2007, when I first got stationed in Bremerton, WA. She sat for almost two years while I did training and deployments. I just brought her back to life a month ago. Fluids, filters, the whole shebang. She ran perfectly for 3 weeks, and then all of this started happening. I changed the fuel filter on Wednesday, expecting the white smoke to be varnish built up in the filter. Nope. Last night I saw ridiculous knock numbers at cruise, bouncing around from 000 on the O2/31 degrees, to 900/7. The idle is unpredictable at best, and there is a strong ticking coming from the passenger valve cover area.

I have good rebuilt heads from a few years ago that I bought, fully intending to either have them installed or install them. The odometer says about 55k, but I'm pretty sure that it's more like 155k.