engine decision?

91dime

Drop & Destroy
Im going to build a 3.8 for my s10. I have a turbo and intercooler from a gnx, but I dont have the engine yet. I need help deciding on what engine to go with. Im thinking I should go with a 78-83 turbo engine becouse im going to run an accel dfi system, and im not very experienced with the DIS ignition systems. What kind of boost can a 3.8 handle, i was planning on going with forged pistons and arp studs, stock crank and rods. Can you get 4 blt main caps for these engines? Im new to these engines so any help would be great, thanks.

If you have a turbo and IC from a GNX, you might want to wrap it up and put it up in the closet....

Your could save yourself some grief and do it the easy way- buy a complete 86/87 engine (they're available all the time) with harness and ECM, pull your old stuff, and drop in the 3.8. Do some research, and you'll find that it's not too hard to wring some serious power from these engines. Factor in the lighter weight of your truck, and you're in for an E-ticket ride.....

i wouldn't even bother with going with anything under 86. Would save you money in the long run to go with a 86-87 in the first place.
As for the GNX intercooler and turbo... they didnt make many GNX's. A used crusty old gnx turbo just sold for over 1000 bucks on ebay and a intercooler i would imagine would go for more. You can get aftermarket things... NEW items for far cheaper then GNX goods. You may not even have to get a turbo or intercooler separately if you buy the engine complete with accessory's. How fast are you planning on going?

You can buy complete engines on eBay or call Brian at GBodyParts.com Online.

I just started this same process about a month ago. I have a monte carlo and decided I wanted a GN setup. Listen to them and buy an 86/87 GN motor, then anything else you would need you can post for in the wanted section on this board. I have gotten EVERYTHING.