Detonation and backfiring

Plans Ahead

Tony from Branford, Connecticut here, with a higher mileage '87 GN with a worked motor I bought a few years ago after I sold my last Grand National and regretted it. The car I have now is a T Top, it is a driver but runs like a scalded cat. I have had a few GN's thru the years, but there is something about this motor that impressed me enough to buy it . The car breaks the tires free at any speed and pins you back like it should. Straight dump, no cats,no muffler, big turbo and I am assuming injectors. I am not a mechanic, nor even mechanically inclined when it comes to cars. Lately when punched, the motor roars to life, but about mid throttle, starts to break up and detonate, and on the hind end of accelerating,back fires. A few months ago a backfire blew a vacuum hose off and I limped over to my local mechanic who found the problem and off I went. Ever since ,the car just isn't right. It's still a beast, but nailing it when getting on a highway ramp, it's breaking up and not pulling as strong. I've searched some old threads hoping to find a shop in the area who I could have take a look at my car, but to no avail. Does anyone have any suggestions?
I am not looking for any freebies, just hoping to get my car back up to where it was.
Thanks in advance all!

First off, if the car is detonating dont keep beating on it, its not gonna fix it self. Youre gonna end up blowing the head gaskets and beat up the bearings. hopefully you have some gauges in the car.
How old are the plugs and wires? how much boost? are you running alky? Check fuel pressure, should be 43# with the vaccum line off. It should also add one# per psi of boost. If it isnt the pump could be at fault. If it checks out then id tighten the gap on the plugs to see if it clears up, if it does that would point to a weak coil.
good luck