Car sat and now it clanks

xrunner123

Car sat for a few months as I was doing some exhaust work and I replaced the turbo. I started it up today but as soon as it started there was a loud banging/clanking noise at idle at the top of the motor- I turned it off after 30 seconds. Car ran fine before it sat.
I pulled the plugs for inspection and the valve covers. I am no expert but I do not see anything bad.
What could cause this and how to diagnose it? Can I run the car without the valve covers to see if they are running properly? I don't want to make it worse.
Thanks in advance.

I probably can't help you, I'm still very new figuring out all the different bad clanks, but maybe I can help someone else help you. If you're willing to run it again for a brief time and upload a video of it to YouTube, maybe someone could recognize the sound and guide you.

I had a bad water pump making a clanking sound that sounded like it was coming from the top front of the engine.. if that helps.

Good luck.

This happened to a 454 I borrowed to pull my Big ass boat. It ran perfectly the 600 mile trip. I change its oil and retired it to his happy owner, it sat about 3 or 4 weeks, and when he went to hook it to his travail trailer the thing sounded like a rod was out.
I pulled the engine that night turned it upside down pulled the pan and it was beautiful inside. Called a old mechanic friend told him about the noise and he laughed. Told me to reinstall start it . And low RPM (1500 if I remember right )pore ATF down the carb, said it was carbon that came loose from the head after setting and couldn’t get out the exhaust valve. He said add slowly tell the noise went away. Worked like a camp.
I’ve heard people use a spray bottle of water and misting the intake, same result.
A little scary to do to our pride and joy.

I vote lifter. And for some reason when they go down on these engines they flat out don't want to pump back up unless you kick the crap out of it.

Oil psi was good at start.