86-87 ECM upgrade into 85 Hot Air Turbo

Big Dawg

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2020
Hi guys I have a quick question, I am about to tackle the ECM upgrade in my 85. I have everything ready to go in but am having troubles finding the part number for the Pins that are in the harness. I just want to find a couple of the pins for the IAT/MAT so I can do a correct wire install.

So if anyone has the part number available that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
 

Jerryl

Tall Chinese Guy
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
See attached.
Screenshot_2015-12-26-09-17-03.png
 

Big Dawg

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2020
Thank you for the diagram, I know which pins are for the IAT, I am just looking to find the part number for the pins that are in the harness, as I would like to pin the 2 new wires into the harness. I looked in my 85 Harness plugs and the 2 slots are empty. Just need 2 pins to plug in.
 

Jerryl

Tall Chinese Guy
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Thank you for the diagram, I know which pins are for the IAT, I am just looking to find the part number for the pins that are in the harness, as I would like to pin the 2 new wires into the harness. I looked in my 85 Harness plugs and the 2 slots are empty. Just need 2 pins to plug in.
Gotcha. Look on the Caspers Electronics website. If you can't find them on the site, send them an email.
 

Big Dawg

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2020
Are you doing the LT1 Mass Air Flow and MAF Translator with this ECM upgrade?
Hi, I have the LT1 mass air flow,and the MaF translator, I need to get a new cold air kit so I can size it up, the factory one is shorter than what I need. I just hooked up a stock 86 MAF and installed the IAT for now, and ECM is swapped as well. I am just waiting for my Test pipe to arrive so I can install the exhaust before I fire it up.

Is there a big difference on how the car will respond and drive with the LT1 MAF and Maf translator?

Thanks
 

HotAirWH1

Active Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2018
Where did you install the IAT? I was wondering how it all fits up integrating the LT1 Sensor & MAF Translator to the stock air intake. Isn't the LT1 sensor somewhat shorter than the stock MAF & what keeps it in place since it doesn't bolt up to the stock air canister as the stock MAF does. Once you get it all hooked up, would you mind posting some pic's of what you came up with?
 

HotAirWH1

Active Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2018
Hi, I have the LT1 mass air flow,and the MaF translator, I need to get a new cold air kit so I can size it up, the factory one is shorter than what I need. I just hooked up a stock 86 MAF and installed the IAT for now, and ECM is swapped as well. I am just waiting for my Test pipe to arrive so I can install the exhaust before I fire it up.

Is there a big difference on how the car will respond and drive with the LT1 MAF and Maf translator?

Thanks
Here is an interesting thread in case you haven't read it before - Stock Air Box is Crap
 

Big Dawg

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2020
Thats a great read. I will definitely be putting on a cold air setup for sure. Now I just need to get a black setup, no chrome for me. I am most likely going to relocate the Charcoal canister and run the air intake either down the space that was there for the canister or I behind that open space where the drivers side Headlight is ( just in behind that and the rad support).
 

Attachments

  • 20210928_192137.jpg
    20210928_192137.jpg
    895.1 KB · Views: 19
  • 20210928_191916.jpg
    20210928_191916.jpg
    755.2 KB · Views: 18

Big Dawg

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2020
Okay so I decided to switch over my MAF to the LT1 Maf and Translator. I also decided to cut a 4 inch hole at the base of where the Charcoal canister was originally mounted up and decided to put the cold air intake and filter there. Now I just need to get a 12inch intake to complete the install. One thing I realized is that the MAF sensor PiGtail on the 85 is not plug and play with the Translator pigtail. I have a complete 87 harness that I will dig up and see of the 87 MAF sensor pigtail is different. If they aren't I will probably just splice the translator into the 85 MAF pigtail.

Here are a few pics of of how it looks so far. I am going to reuse the plastic intake tube from throttle body to where the stock MAF was attached.
 

Attachments

  • 20210929_120459.jpg
    20210929_120459.jpg
    592.4 KB · Views: 15
  • 20210929_155846.jpg
    20210929_155846.jpg
    701.3 KB · Views: 16
  • 20210929_155854.jpg
    20210929_155854.jpg
    690.5 KB · Views: 16
  • 20210929_155901.jpg
    20210929_155901.jpg
    766.6 KB · Views: 16

HotAirWH1

Active Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2018
Okay so I decided to switch over my MAF to the LT1 Maf and Translator. I also decided to cut a 4 inch hole at the base of where the Charcoal canister was originally mounted up and decided to put the cold air intake and filter there. Now I just need to get a 12inch intake to complete the install. One thing I realized is that the MAF sensor PiGtail on the 85 is not plug and play with the Translator pigtail. I have a complete 87 harness that I will dig up and see of the 87 MAF sensor pigtail is different. If they aren't I will probably just splice the translator into the 85 MAF pigtail.

Here are a few pics of of how it looks so far. I am going to reuse the plastic intake tube from throttle body to where the stock MAF was attached.
What solution did you come up with to connect the 85 MAF pigtail into the Translator pigtail. Is there an Adapter made so as not to have to splice into the 85 harness? I checked Caspers and did not find one. Maybe someone else?
 

Big Dawg

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2020
What solution did you come up with to connect the 85 MAF pigtail into the Translator pigtail. Is there an Adapter made so as not to have to splice into the 85 harness? I checked Caspers and did not find one. Maybe someone else?
Actually, I had spliced the 2 ends together and when I was looking at the male and female end of the cut pigtails of the MAF pigtail amd Maf Translator harness pigtail, the size and shape looked as of it would connect and with a little finaggling it did fit, was a tight connection. So I soldered them back to the harness and Translator and connected them correctly. Live and learn I guess.
 

Attachments

  • 20211005_181414.jpg
    20211005_181414.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 7
  • Screenshot_20211014-080835_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20211014-080835_Gallery.jpg
    627.9 KB · Views: 7
  • 20211005_181456.jpg
    20211005_181456.jpg
    815.1 KB · Views: 7

HotAirWH1

Active Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2018
Thank you for the diagram, I know which pins are for the IAT, I am just looking to find the part number for the pins that are in the harness, as I would like to pin the 2 new wires into the harness. I looked in my 85 Harness plugs and the 2 slots are empty. Just need 2 pins to plug in.
One more question (LOL). When you pined the IAT/MAT to the ECM - the black wire was to be spliced into the D-12 wire (as per Caspers Instructions) How or where did you "pin" this to the Harness.
 

Big Dawg

New Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2020
One more question (LOL). When you pined the IAT/MAT to the ECM - the black wire was to be spliced into the D-12 wire (as per Caspers Instructions) How or where did you "pin" this to the Harness.
Hi, I just used a tap-in splice about 4 inches away from the ecm plug and tapped into the D-12 pin
 
Top