From Southwest Ohio

Johnnie

Hello. Please let me introduce myself. My name is Johnnie, I am also known as BigJohnnie on a few of the aviation sites. I am 58 years old, a grandfather, an RN, and in SW Ohio. I am a private pilot and proud gear head.
A couple of months ago, I sold my beloved "classic" airplane ( a 1955 Piper Tripacer) with the intent on finding an "investment quality" 87 GN that myself and my lovely little RedHeaded wife and I can enjoy ( she gets airsickness sometimes, hence another reason for selling the airplane.) I owned one back in the early 90's, and I loved that ride. Bought it with 17k miles on it for 10 grand , bone stock and unmolested. ( It also had blue pin striping just like "retired guy's! An option???) I was surprised that it was .2 sec quicker than my '66 chevelle SS 396 /375 4spd , had air conditioning, and got twice the gas mileage. And it was QUIET and dependable. By the way, I think "retired guy" said it best in a previous post when it comes to driving a GN. I felt exactly the same way.
Anyway, fast forward 25 years. Like I mentioned before, I sold my airplane at the beginning of the summer. I had been on a search to end all searches for an '87 unmolested GN for pleasure driving and investment purposes. Wwwwwwellllllllllll............. I finally found one. And it's *Perfect*. 33k miles. The paint has a mirror finish. Not a nick, scratch, or smudge . Engine bay looks like it rolled off the assembly line yesterday. The owner took absolutely impeccable care of her. It has won its share of awards at cruise-ins. It's the "time capsule" I've been looking for. It's getting delivered here this weekend in an enclosed trailer.