Chip Options? Thinking About Dumping the Maftpro

Discussion in 'General Turbo Buick Tech' started by qwic87gn, Apr 15, 2017.

  1. whitehot1

    whitehot1
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3,319
    Likes Received:
    173
    Offline
    I've been running the MaftPro with an extender extreme pro chip for around 10 years without a Maf sensor and have never experienced any idling or driving problems. Idle,part throttle,wot is all great. I haven't made any adjustments to the setup in years. I always liked the set it and forget it way of doing things. I do the boost and alky adjustments the same way. Keep it simple.

    Seems everyone who has a problem with their car they want to blame the parts on the car instead of operator error/adjustments.

    Maybe you could make a thread in the regional section for someone in your area to help you get it sorted out. That would be better than someone trying to help over the internet.
     
  2. TurboBuRick

    TurboBuRick
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    8,655
    Likes Received:
    311
    Offline
    I can help with the tpro if you are in Chicago area.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. qwic87gn

    qwic87gn
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Offline
    I've never said I'm not to blame- as I said I'm going back through the wiring to ensure I didn't cause an issue by making a bad connection while installing it.

    There's a decent support network in Utah, but not for this particular device. Guys around here are running FAST setups or are still using a MAF.

    Maybe something will be obvious to Bob once he can review the log I sent him.
     
  4. Ttype6

    Ttype6
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    153
    Offline
    There's no evidence that you are to blame. There's no evidence that the MAFT Pro is not to blame. There's no reason to assume either scenario.
     
  5. dank GN

    dank GN
    Expand Collapse
    always something

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    178
    Offline
    If you are going to spend the cash might aswell do it once and get the megasquirt pro or a fast setup ,SD2. I'm running a sd2 flex fuel setup and I love it . You know 3-5 year from now you will be going faster with most likely new parts you will want full control over VE ,spark,A/F, tables, this is all just my 2 cents doesn't mean much but it might one day lol
     
  6. TurboBuRick

    TurboBuRick
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    8,655
    Likes Received:
    311
    Offline
    The Tpro is a great device but like anything it has a learning curve.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Grumpy

    Grumpy
    Expand Collapse
    Thread killer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    10,617
    Likes Received:
    339
    Offline
    And thats why I use a simple TT chip. Still have adjustments u can play with . :p
     
  8. Evaddave 87gn

    Evaddave 87gn
    Expand Collapse
    Always learning...

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    11
    Offline
    Rick saved my ass with the Pro more than once! With his help an patience I was able gain a very good understanding of the unit.

    Thanks again Rick!
     
  9. TurboBuRick

    TurboBuRick
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    8,655
    Likes Received:
    311
    Offline
    The Tpro is really a great tool. Totally under rated. I still run it in my GN and it works well but I agree with Dan. A regular translator and a maf are hard to be for simplicity. I tuned on a car the other day with a extreme chip, translator and lt1 maf. Took like 3 wot blasts to dial in right in. It's like jetting a carb by turning a knob. Its so simple.

    Rick
     
  10. Mr.Spool

    Mr.Spool
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,047
    Likes Received:
    208
    Offline
    Yup(y)so many just don't think its possible to go fast while keeping it simple.
     
  11. Ttype6

    Ttype6
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,886
    Likes Received:
    153
    Offline
    When I ran the Max Effort R chip,it had an unlimited amount of adjust ability. What that ended up meaning was that I would spend an unlimited amount of time adjusting it and never get it right. If I still had that set-up,I wouldn't even have time to write this because I would be out in the garage right now adjusting it before going to work.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  12. Evaddave 87gn

    Evaddave 87gn
    Expand Collapse
    Always learning...

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    11
    Offline
    I really like the Pro, its a powerful tool. But like all of these types of systems that allow for many changes to many parameters, if it isn't set up correctly the car will run like shit. The old addage holds: Garbage in = Garbage out.

    For me it was the right choice, but I like to tweak and make changes. (I enjoy that aspect).

    I tend to think that if you get some help to configure the Tpro you will be happy with it and save the money you would spend on a new chip.
     
  13. juan89

    juan89
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    Offline
    I have this setup and it runs great.
    If you do not have the right chip, it is not going to run right.

    With the proper chip no adjustments are necessary .
    With your setup , you are going to have to make some changes to the VE table or use the keypad adjustments.

    The extenderpro is not that much different that a turbo tweek chip, as long as it is program correctly for your combo.
     
  14. qwic87gn

    qwic87gn
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Offline
    Sorry it's been so long since I've responded to the thread- haven't had much time to do anything with the car until recently. I went through all the wiring triple checking everything and re-soldered a couple spots. I haven't much of an opportunity to log(powerlogger) much, due to schedules but I do have a couple at idle, cruise and short WOT pulls. Would any of you that are familiar with this setup be willing to look them over and provide some input?

    Does anyone use the boost control feature in the pro? I'm curious what settings you've found to work well when it comes to maintaining your set pressure. I'm running the stock style HD actuator and can't get it to go beyond 15psi when set upwards of 18 on the pro. I'm wondering if it's a matter of where the rod is set on the actuator?


    Thanks for the help, guys!
     
  15. ITSAV6

    ITSAV6
    Expand Collapse
    It's my Granny's car!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,937
    Likes Received:
    90
    Offline
    Are you using the stock boost solenoid? The Y in boost line turned the correct way?
     
  16. qwic87gn

    qwic87gn
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Offline
    I'm using the high boost solenoid for the Maftpro. It's plumbed according to the instructions that came with it.
     
  17. TurboDave

    TurboDave
    Expand Collapse
    Turbo Buick Tech Moderator
    Staff Member TurboBuick.Com Supporter!

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    12,347
    Likes Received:
    379
    Online
    I hate to say this but...
    I tried to get that solenoid to work and never had any success. I finally resorted to a fix of my own design. Two stock solenoid operating in parallel.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  18. Evaddave 87gn

    Evaddave 87gn
    Expand Collapse
    Always learning...

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    11
    Offline
    I use the solenoid (just recently hooked it up), works great for me. I can hold a steady 18lbs and up. However, for me, the instructions weren't as clear as they could be.

    Wondering about your set up though, my HD actuator would not let me set my boost lower than 24lbs.

    Did you splice into the wastgate sensing wire at the ecu from the pro? If not then your chip is controlling boost not the pro.

    Still should not be enough to open that HD gate at 15lbs though....
     
    #38 Evaddave 87gn, May 22, 2017
    Last edited: May 22, 2017
  19. Nigel

    Nigel
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2001
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    32
    Offline
    I would double check the wiring, make sure you have 12v on the hot side with the key on. The maft pulses the ground for control. Check the wiring back to the maft on the ground after the hot side checks out. Some initial settings to start with based on your set up. I used the maft and the solenoid with success. The settings below assume no aux trigger and should be conservative. Use the PLC to log boost duty cycle for making adjustments. Watch your gauge for overboost.

    TPS Spool 2.5
    RPM Spool 2600
    TPS Start 3.7
    PSI Start 9
    DC% Start 30
    PSI Set 18
    PSI Aux 0
    Gain 5
    DC% St Aux 0
    Max RPM 6000
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. qwic87gn

    qwic87gn
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Offline
    Edit- yes, I'm tapped into that and the powerlogger is reading the wastegate cycle.
     
    #40 qwic87gn, May 22, 2017
    Last edited: May 22, 2017

Share This Page