![]() |
|
|||||||
|
Welcome to the TurboBuick.Com forums. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us. |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
||||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Dear Gary,
Think Yuz for the buy it now. This was my brudders car and he got killed yusturday . I am in Nigeria BUT will pay all shipping charges to you door. Please reply back so I can give yuz the WESTURN ONION addreez to for da money .. God Bless ![]()
__________________
Dan don't run your mouth if you cant run your car 86/87 GN and 89 TTA .. tons of parts !! Time to get out! Stuff has to go !!! Otherwise I am cutting it up and throwing it away email ttastage2@yahoo.com
|
|
||||
|
People like him is why I never pay for a big ticket item sight unseen, and why I only buy things like cars from either extremely reputable dealers, or close enough by that I can pick it up in person, I've yet to be scammed on Ebay that way. Always do your homework definitely.
No reply from the scammer yet, I'll paste any replies I get in here for everyone's amusement. |
|
||||
|
Ooh just got a reply!
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
||||
|
Another reply, just as I and others suspected he's "away from home" right now:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
||||||
|
The auction may be gone but the scam lives on, more emails!
(scammer text in italics) Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
||||
|
Just as I thought, shortly after I got an email from Ebay Motors and an invoice directing me to send a money gram, it used my REAL NAME even (Alan Smithee of course hahahaha) and looked extremely legitimate.
It wants me to money gram to Adam Wise City - State: San Jose - CA Zip: 95112 Country: United States Now I need to do something with that, I'm sure if I call the San Jose police they're gonna laugh and hang up, but if they were to have someone send that dude money they could nab themselves a fraudster when he showed up to get it, but I figure he has an account that sends cash to a Nigerian bank (or other foreign bank). So I'm kinda stumped, what do I do now? I also noticed his Ebay account is no longer registered (his "invoice" he sent had a convenient link to his Ebay ID and sho nuff, no longer registered). Dude is using AOL but I have a feeling the ip will trace back to a pc that's infected with some kinda virus that he's using as a zombie to send those emails. |
|
||||
|
Not so far, figure he'll email me tomorrow or the next day wondering where the money is, hurry up I'm going out of the country soon, blah blah.
Do people really fall for these scams? An HONEST car salesman would have gotten my first email and immediately sent me phone numbers at the mention of hard cold cash and a hankering to buy. I've asked him for a phone number, what 3 times now? Hmm ok I'm gonna prod him again: Quote:
|
|
||||
|
Nope just the name and zip probably how Money Gram works, and I have a sneaky suspicion that name & zip are tied to a foreign bank account, one that once the money posts won't even refund it.
|
|
|||
|
Its really not worth the effort going through all of this unless you were suckered into giving him the money.. Although it is an interesting exchange and can help others be more cautious about things, there are other things to occupy your time...
Lets face it, there will ALWAYS be scammers, and its a shame, but its just the world we live in.... and lets face it, there is not much we can do about it. I've sold cars to people sight-unseen, and have always scratched my head... but thats the risk some people are willing to take I guess..
__________________
Stock 84 Monte SS w/ 87 GN drivetrain. Mods: TA-60 Turbo, CompCams 206/206, 009 Inj., Hotwired Red's XP+ Fuel Pump, 3" THDP, TT Chip (20/18), Adj. Wastegate, Adj. Fuel Press. Reg., 160 deg. therm., K & N air filter, 2.5" ATR Pitbull Stainless Exh., Red's Volt. Booster, Eaton Posi, Pass. Side Airbag, HRPartsNstuff Motor Mount, BFG Drag Radials 235/60/r15 . E85 and ALKY in the Spring, WATCH OUT!! BEST ET'S Street Tires/Pump Gas: 60' 1.83, 1/8th 7.81@88.4; ~17 psi, 1/4 12.18@111.9; ~16 psi NEW BEST: Street tires/Race Gas 11.63 @ 121.57 ~ 22 psi. Drag Radials/~108 octane: 60' 1.63, 1/8th 7.31@99.8; adj.; ~23 psi. SOLD!! |
|
||||
|
I mostly did it for entertainment, I was hoping on several possible outcomes:
Best case is he gives me enough information and slips up enough I'm actually able to get his ass arrested. Chance of success nearly 0%. Or I get him to send pictures of himself next to the car and laugh at whatever silliness that causes. Chance of success maybe 20% Or I waste some of his time and frustrate him a bit while hopefully one or two people will wise to their schemes. I was actually confused as to what sort of scam this was, he was insistent on using ebay's vehicle protection program but then I saw him continue to ask for my "full name" and ebay id, I had a feeling then what was going on, but it was a slightly improved version of the same old "send me money with western union" scam. Chance of success 100% since that's exactly what I did ![]() |